Dimple 15

Dimple 15 1

(Special thanks to /u/slackerdude for this sample)

Now to continue the series I’m calling “The Blender: A totally not rip-off of /u/tintin777‘s review series”.

Up next we have a blend made primarily of Glenkinchie malt, with some “more northernly distilleries” thrown in for good measure, including Linkwood, of which we know is always good. That seems fun.

Man I am tired. I’m having trouble just going these days. Too many things on my plate. Who would have thought that you’d be tired trying to cut your cable, write a manuscript, work on a project for your wife, do triple the reviews, take some classes and finish them early, keep work going, run a Pathfinder game, and generally try to beat Borderlands 2 with my wife on Ultimate Vault Hunter mode.

Suffice to say, I’ve burnt myself out.

But back to the malt at hand: Dimple 15. It’s called Haig Dimple in the UK and Dimple Pinch in the USA. Since I’m in Canada, I’m calling it Dimple 15. It’s aged longer than the currently Dimple.

Let’s see how this one tastes!

Dimple 15 2

Price: N/A at the LCBO at the moment

Region: Blend

Abv: 40%

Colour: Goldy-Orange

Nose: Butter, orange, smoke, ginger, vanilla, dew

By dew, I don’t mean it tastes like testicle shrinking go-juice that you drink while flying down a mountain, I mean it smells like morning dew. Which I enjoy. It’s a little overtly orange-y and buttery, however I don’t mind nosing this.

Taste: Peach, cardamon, pepper, herbal, nutmeg

Very peach. Much going to the country. So in a can, put there by a man.

Also quite watery and quite herbal. Not really that tasty. Somewhat boring.

Finish: Butter, dry, peach, chilis, creamy, herbal

Again, dry peach. Reminds me of an aged chardonnay, though the flavours are more muted, and the finish is really short.

Conclusion: Meh. At the end of the day, it’s too much Glenkinchie to be interesting. There’s quite a bit of peach in it, and the nose is all orange and butter. There’s a lot of unbalance, low points, and generally needs more time or something that pops in it.

I think there are better blends out there, so this one is a pass for me.

68/100

Scotch reviews #260, Blend reviews #21, Whisky Network Reviews #393

1001 Whiskies to taste before you die review #191

One thought on “Dimple 15

Leave a Reply

