Big Bottom Straight Bourbon Whiskey, Cabernet Cask Finish [Mystery]

Big Bottom Straight Bourbon Whiskey, Cabernet Cask Finish 1

So it’s mystery review time yet again, and this time it comes from /u/Devoz. Thank you sir.

After the last one, anything will taste better.

However this review is different than others. I’ve been informed that I must guess without checking his list. Or at least I must guess the finish without checking his list.

And since I’m about as good at guessing Mystery Drams as I am at Battletoads (pretty bad), I took this challenge on, because why not handicap myself?

Alright, so I know this is finished. That’s a nice clue.

Big Bottom Straight Bourbon Whiskey, Cabernet Cask Finish 2

Price: N/A in Ontario

Region: Oregon

Abv: 45.5%

Colour: Brown-Orange

Alright, it’s not red, or purple, or some odd other colour. It is somewhat orange as I stare at it some more. Maybe it’s Amontillado?

Nose: Brown sugar, canned pears, cornbread, Cola, edamame, grape, rosemary

Again, I get a light amount of brown sugar, though no orange or sherry influence, so I’m thinking it’s not Amontillado.

The dram itself has a sweeter side to it, with some umami and earth involved. The nose is a little light though.

Taste: Brown sugar, corn, peanut, raw sugar cane, dragon fruit, nutmeg

Again, no sherry influence, but I’m wondering if the Brown sugar isn’t a Brandy finish maybe. Would make sense. There’s no real strong fruit flavours either. More dry.

As I said before, at first I wasn’t blown away by this, however it tastes better as time goes on.

Finish: Rosemary, vanilla, conch, caramel, dust, dry, raspberry

More earth, some meatiness, and eventually a really dry, dusty finish. Nice stuff. Could be a little stronger.

Conclusion: It’s a dry, nice sipping whiskey. Good earth elements, and given a lot of time to open up, I really appreciated this more and more. It tastes that little different than other Bourbons, so I’d recommend ordering a dram of it at a bar.

Guess on Finish: Brandy finish?

Actually: Cabernet Sauvignon

Guess: Jim Beam Signature Brandy Finish

Actually: Big Bottom Straight Bourbon Whiskey, Cabernet Cask Finish

79/100

Bourbon review #55, Oregon review #2, Whiskey Network review #377

One thought on “Big Bottom Straight Bourbon Whiskey, Cabernet Cask Finish [Mystery]

Leave a Reply

