Balvenie 15 Single Barrel Sherry Cask

Balvenie 15 Single Barrel Sherry Cask 1

Oops, I’ve fallen behind on my pre-binge sample emptying list.

Shame. Shame on me.

Recently there was a post about Balvenie Fanboys. And while I wouldn’t call myself one (as I don’t require Tun 1401 in order to get an erection), I do enjoy them enough to venture out that I am an aficionado. So I’m happy to be reviewing the Balvenie 15 Single Barrel Sherry Cask today. Thanks to /u/randimosity for the dram.

Well, tentatively happy. I’m one of the few people who didn’t enjoy the original Balvenie 15 Single Barrel . I found it boring. And I still don’t really know why. I love ex-Bourbon casks. It has a high Abv. And I do enjoy quite a few of Balvenie’s offerings.

It’s like Hawaiian pizza. I love bacon, and ham, and pizza, and pineapple. Grilled Pineapple on ham or a sandwich is awesome. Bacon is good there too. Mixed with Mozzarella? Forget about it! But offer me some Hawaiian pizza and I will smack the living shit out of you.

And that’s not an okay thing to do!

Granted, last night I was watching a show where they threw hot peppers and grilled onions on a Hawaiian pizza, and that made it better, so maybe it’s just missing something.

And maybe that something is sherry This whisky (getting back to whisky now that you want pizza) is fully matured in a sherry cask. It’s hand selected, and only released in small batches.

Sounds good, let’s move aside my previous issues and see if I like this one.

Balvenie 15 Single Barrel Sherry Cask 2

Price: N/A at the LCBO at the moment

Region: Speyside

Abv: 47.8%

Colour: Brick

Nose: Raisin, cinnamon, cherry, dark honey, brown sugar, ginger, candied walnuts, mint

Big sherry influence at the start. The “I’m Balvenie and therefore have bee puke” smell I love is there too, which is great.

The nose is already a lot nicer than the older Balvenie. For me at least.

Taste: Strawberry, molasses, ginger, papaya, nutmeg, current, anise

Okay, so we have more sherry flavours here, not going too “outside the box” or “complex”. Strong flavours though, so that’s nice.

Missing some of the hallmark Balvenie flavours though. The sherry has dominated here like it saw 50 Shades of Grey and “wanted to try some shit out”

Editor’s Note: Don’t just start tying up one another and trying crazy shit from that movie/book please. Learn how to do it properly and safely, otherwise you’re going to maim or kill someone you love, and then who will you orgasm with?

Finish: Cherry, basil, honey, tangerine, iodine, meringue, earthy

Nice amount of earth at the end, and there’s some of the Balvenie notes I liked from others. Nothing too “out there”, again, yet I’m enjoying it.

Conclusion: See Kingsmen. It’s a fun movie. And you won’t end up accidentally erotically asphyxiating.

Oh, you meant about the whisky.

It’s better than the last Single Barrel, by a little bit. The last one was disjoint though strong and I had trouble rating it. Looking back, I probably should have knocked the score down by about 4 points, however given it’s strong flavour and the fact that it was only disjoint, the score is probably still okay.

This one is better, and not all over the place. It’s consistent, however the flavour doesn’t have any note I’d say was “Balvenie”. Nice sherry notes, and certainly better than other 15 year Sherried whiskies I’ve had.

That said, it didn’t wow me. I’d drink it if handed to me, however probably wouldn’t buy a bottle.

78/100

Scotch review #236, Speyside review #73, Whisky Network review #363

One thought on “Balvenie 15 Single Barrel Sherry Cask

Leave a Reply

