Parker’s Heritage Collection 7th Edition Promise of Hope

Parker’s Heritage Collection 7th Edition Promise of Hope 1

Continuing on with my “Better finish some American Whiskeys” unofficial saga, we have a sample I received in a trade from /u/Devoz. Thanks again /u/Devoz, we’ll have to do it again.

I’ll admit it: I really had not idea what Parker’s Heritage Collection 7th Edition Promise of Hope was or what the Parker’s Heritage Collection was at all.

Well, if you’re like me, today I’ll say what it is: It’s a group of rare, limited edition American Whiskeys offered as a tribute to sixth-generation Master Distiller Parker Beam. Each one is different in it’s own excellent way.

The 7th version is a simple 10 year bourbon that is perfectly aged and at a proper alcohol level as well. Or at least what’s they aimed for.

Second of all, and I’d say more importantly, this one is called “Promise of Hope” because $20 of each bottle goes to ALS research in honor of Parker Beam, who was diagnosed with ALS.

So, that’s unfortunate, however I know I donated ALS this year, and if you’re able, I’d recommend you do as well. Or to another disease based charity that you think does things well and feel good about.

Anyway, let’s see how my first taste of this amazing collection goes. Maybe I’ll hate it and feel like a jerk?

Parker’s Heritage Collection 7th Edition Promise of Hope 2

Price: N/A at the LCBO

Region: Kentucky

Abv: 48%

Age: 10 years

Colour: Red brick brown

Nose: Cinnamon, apple, nutmeg, sawdust, cherry, honey, rosemary

At first this has a big blast of Apple Pie. Fresh Apple pie. Though this needs time. After the pie goes away, we all masturbate and cry. Mastercry, if you will.

Anyway, once the pie scent is gone, there’s a lot of sawdust/wood notes, and it took a little while for the fruit/sweet aspects to start coming out. Once the wood leaves, it’s nicely balanced throughout the nose.

Taste: Peach, cherry, nutmeg, vegetal, roasted corn, honey, peanut, brown sugar

Fruity. That’s a word to describe this. However it slowly evolves, nothing taking too much center stage. Quite powerful for a non-cask strength (I think?) bourbon.

I kept feeling like I was sipping this too quick because I enjoyed it too much. That and I kept wanting to see what it would do next. Really tasty.

Finish: Almond, cashew, sea salt, eucalyptus, caramel, pear, cocoa

Lots of eucalyptus at first. LOTS AND LOTS. That takes some time to pass on, yet once it does it has this rich caramel flavour that is so, so well worth the wait.

Conclusion: This is, by far, the most solid, well made Bourbon I’ve ever had. I’m not saying it’s hugely complex (though the taste was quite interesting), nor am I saying it’s unique, nor am I saying that it was so good it set off memories.

I’m saying it’s solid. With time, everything balances out, nothing takes over too much, and there’s no bad notes. It’s worth the price, just to point to a Bourbon that does everything right.

85/100

Bourbon review #46, Kentucky review #31, Whiskey Network reviews #349

1001 Whiskies to taste before you die review #177

One thought on “Parker’s Heritage Collection 7th Edition Promise of Hope

Leave a Reply

