Glenmorangie 21 1981/2002 Sauternes Finish [Feather’s Flight Review Set #8]

Glenmorangie 21 yo Sauternes Finish 1

Is it bender time again? No it isn’t. Silly person. I’m not going out to the UK for at least a few months.

So it’s not bender time. It’s my Birthday time! And all I ever ask for is to go out to The Feathers Pub and have drams. This year I asked for recommendations, and followed them quite well.

I know, I’m surprised too. I was drinking, and my phone died. It was sad. We’ll always remember you phone.

Well, sad until it bounced back after being charged. But you knew that, it’s a phone.

So, Highland Region. Not exactly my favourite region. In the least. I’d say it’s probably at the bottom of the list. I probably have ranked it close to how I’ve ranked Canadian whisky.

Anyway, I was told to go for Glenmorangie 21 year old 1981/2002 Sauternes Finish, and as I turned away from the Tomatin’s that I know I loved, I went for a distillery that is the second favourite in the area.

This whisky spent 19 years in ex-bourbon casks and then was matured in casks formerly containing Chateau d’Yquem.

What’s that? Well, it’s a famous Sauternes wine from France.

What’s a Sauternes wine? It’s a dessert white wine.

What’s a dessert wine? It’s a sweeter wine made to be paired with dessert that accentuates and pairs well with a dessert with acidic and sweet notes. It’s made using grapes that are infected with Noble Rot, a type of fungus that takes away sweetness.

So, hopefully, metaphorical strawman that I just talked to (in type), that answers your questions. Let’s see how this tastes.

Glenmorangie 21 yo Sauternes Finish 2

Price: N/A in Ontario, however online they sell for £550 each.

Abv: 46%

Region: Highland

Colour: Red copper

Nose: Lemon, sour red grapes, toffee, craisins, pear liqueur, apple cider

Starts out a little more acidic than a typical Glenmorangie. Reminds me of both parts of a white wine and a red wine at first.

Eventually the signature sweetness of Glenmorangie William Wallace’s over the wall of wine and makes itself know. The tartness and the sweetness actually work really well together.

Taste: Nutmeg, apple, currant, dry, tarragon, mineral water, pecan, orange rind

If you don’t like Nutmeg, don’t drink this dram. Tasted like concentrated nutmeg oil that I drank in Chemistry class on a dare one time.

Also, don’t do that either, it was dumb.

Eventually this opens into a drier whisky, with lots of fall, southern type flavours. Reminded me of pecan pie.

Finish: Sour brine, Framboise, peppery, nutmeg, ginger, ground coffee

Surprisingly simple finish. Takes a lot of time to dive down on it, and while I don’t hate it, I wanted a continuation of the spice, sweet, and sour aspects of before, where as here it’s mostly pepper, sour, and some spice.

Just like my ex. HIYO!

Conclusion: At first I somewhat wondered about a sweet whisky like Glenmorangie being finished with a sweet wine. I honestly didn’t expect much more than just sweet flavours, so I’m honestly surprised there.

I feel that the dram overall is well made, yet the finish needs more to it. There’s some rough spots. Have to let it breathe to get the full story on the taste and nose, more so than you typically do with whisky.

I can’t say it’s worth the money, but I can’t say it’s a bad release either. I can just say that it’s interesting, and leave it at that. It’s better than the Nectar d’Or, that’s for certain.

82/100

Scotch review #220, Highland review #37, Whisky Network review #321

One thought on “Glenmorangie 21 1981/2002 Sauternes Finish [Feather’s Flight Review Set #8]

Leave a Reply

