Springbank 15

Springbank 15 1

I like Campbeltown. Especially when I spell it correctly, which is rare. And I said I’d do some more once I had them, so why not do them today? Sounds like a good idea before going on my Birthday Benders.

Or after. Man my head hurts.

So the Springbank 15, picked up in Edinburgh on my second visit to that amazing city, right from Cadenheads (which is owned by Springbank… or is it the other way around? Can’t remember, kinda hungover).

More on why later.

Anyway, this is the second in the line-up, and is matured an extra 5 years in sherry casks. Well, an extra amount in sherry casks, I’m just guessing at 5, because… hangover.

Turns out, I’m not as young as I used to be. Which is sad, because I thought I had this whole aging thing licked. Back to the drawing board. Maybe more vegetables and fruits is what I need.

Anyway, I picked up this dram awhile ago, and wanted to try it, and as the LCBO only gets it in when the moon is full, when the sap runs backwards, and when their Chief Purchasers speaks in tongues, getting a small bottle seemed like a good idea.

Springbank 15 2

Price: Currently not available at the LCBO, due to the Dragon of Frostmoor being defeated and the blood moon missing it’s Apex. Maybe in 500 years when the Crystal of Tartook is once again bathed in the blood of Jupiter’s tears.

Region: Campbeltown

Abv: 46%

Colour: Orange wood

Nose: Butterscotch, orange, smoke, strawberry shortcake, Mojito, gummy worms, papaya, a flower shop

Smells like a more complex Springbank 10 year. Has some very complex, insane smells going on. Really impressive and complex.

Kinda like the ritual to raise the Seven Steps of J’akuhul. However that’s for ordering Islays, so we’ll skip over that.

Taste: Lemon, peat, orange juice, spicy calabrese, peach, pepper, medium maple syrup, a little anise

It’s a little bit of a let down, like killing a Starspawn with a handgun. Here you had this complex nose that set off memories, and then the taste is mostly just spice and pepper. Heck, the taste has some odd notes off from the Springbank 10 year.

Very disappointed.

Finish: Smoke, lime, cumin, tortilla, hot sauce

And the sliding slope goes downward forever, just like those sacrifices needed to get in rarer Highlands into the Slinking Pit of R’ha.

It’s really basic at the end. Hard to really pick anything out. I tried clearing my palate, adding some water, and still… nothing too interesting. Even let it rest longer than normal.

Conclusion: Hopefully Cthulhu doesn’t rise up too soon, because I’m not too in love with this dram. Don’t get me wrong, the nose has everything going for it and then some, however… well, the nose writes checks that the taste can’t cash and the finish is out giving $5 handjobs to hope to ever pay off.

It’s not a horrible dram, just not that great. While I’ll admit that my review score for the Springbank 10 is too high, I’d still buy it over Springbank 15.

However this isn’t the first 15 year old, sherried cask whisky I haven’t liked, so I may have a bias. Or am developing one.

79/100

Scotch review #213, Campbeltown review #9, Whisky Network review #314

1001 Whiskies to taste before you die review #162

2 thoughts on “Springbank 15

Leave a Reply

