Redbreast 12 Cask Strength (Community Review)

RB Cask Strength 1

Hey, it’s /u/worldwhisky community reviewing time, and I’m ready! Thanks to /u/uncletobys for sending me a sample of this dram in our recent trans-Pacific swap (that’s where the Pacific goes about a life altering change that we all respect… I think).

Anyway, let’s talk about the dram of the day, Redbreast 12 Cask Strength. Not Red Breast, as I keep typing it. These are not reviews about 12 year old, cask strength sunburnt boobs. Do not send out the swat team to my house.

Also, what the hell are Cask Strength breasts?

Glad we cleared up that spelling mistake that I keep doing.

Anyway, this whiskey debuted in 2011 (so old) at Whisky Live Paris. Because really, it’s an Irish whiskey, why not debut it in Paris? Oddly enough, the website doesn’t have any of the awards they’ve walked away for this one. They should at least point out that it’s Reddit’s favourite Irish.

As I’ve said before, this is a single pot still Irish whiskey, making it one of two that are actually made using a single pot still whiskey today (the other being Green Spot).

So, I wasn’t the biggest fan of the regular 12, let’s see how the 12 CS stacks up.

RB Cask Strength 2

Price: N/A in Ontario

Region: Ireland

Abv: 57.7%

Batch: B1/11

Colour: Brown/Gold

Nose: Yeast, caramel, orange zest, melon, nail polish remover, fake strawberry

Starts out with the ever so present Irish note of Yeast, yet, for the first time, it goes right away! Damn, what a surprise!

There’s some good here and some bad, like a stripper with a heart of gold who just can’t break the racket, however don’t worry, she’ll get a movie about her that’s tragic.

Nice balance of fruit, acid, and sweetness. However the nail polish is bleeding and leaves this fake strawberry note that I am not a fan of.

Taste: Melon, caramel, nutmeg, lemongrass, salt, jujubes

To specify, I think it tastes like Canary Melon, however it’s been so long since I’ve bought Canary Melon, so I’m just going to say melon.

But enough about boobs.

Nice sweetness, could be overpowering. Not as much burn as I was expecting either. Eventually has a little earth and spice as well, which is nice.

Finish: Wheat, cream, rosemary, earth, charcoal, turnip, lime

Oh, look, that earth I was talking about. All up in my grill. Oh… goody.

It’s unbalanced towards earth at the end. Needs some more sweetness. Not a game breaker, but definitely costing it some points. You have to land the dismount.

Conclusion: This is better than the 12 year, which I found weak and forgettable. That said, at Cask Strength this is just starting to actually have some personality. I think it needs much more time in the cask, to weed out some of those issues. Not to mention the finish just doesn’t do it for me, too unbalanced.

It’s nice, though I probably won’t be paying the 3 cows and my second-born daughter for a bottle when it hits the LCBO (if ever).

77/100

World Whiskey review #59, Ireland review #8, Whiskey Network review #282

One thought on “Redbreast 12 Cask Strength (Community Review)

Leave a Reply

