Stronachie 12 [Mystery Review]

Stronachie 12 0

I’m okay at mystery drams. I’ll be the first to say that I’m okay. Not great, but not utter shite either. I can typically identify at least the region of the whisk(e)y I’m drinking.

Usually.

And most of the time, I’m given a hint. A tiny hint, just to put me along. Like, if it’s a bourbon, or a rye, for instance. Or if it’s a Scotch, or a Canadian.

This time… not so much as a hint that it was coming. That /u/Scotch_Fanatic likes to throw you a curve ball when he swaps yah, I tells yah.

Okay, so I’m guessing that it’s a Scotch, based on the guy’s name. I had a bad day overall, so I decided it was a whisky drinking night, as I ignore the 40 mosquito bites I have covering my legs.

Stronachie 12 1

Price: I don’t know

Region: Seriously, I don’t know

Abv: Why do you keep asking me, I DON’T KNOW!

Colour: Light gold

Nose: Wheat, lemon, apple, papaya, rubber, light pine

This smells really familiar. Has a very fruity nose to it.

Also has a good balance of pine and rubber to edge out the sweetness.

I’m up shit creek on guessing though.

Taste: Pineapple, salt, cloves, orange, bubblegum, basil

Nice amount of fruit to spice mixture. It’s young, I think. Not cask strength, though I wouldn’t say lower than 43%.

Again, I could be completely wrong.

Finish: Bubblegum, orange zest, tarragon, lemon zest, light smoke

Have I had this before? It’s really familiar. Though nothing on /u/Scotch_Fanatic‘s list rings this bell at all.

Based on the type of smoke, I’d guess a Speyside though. it’s light, almost not there. And the bubblegum flavour is really present.

Conclusion: This is a decent, overall well balanced dram. Nothing over the top, memory inducing, however nothing horrible about it or off putting. Wish it was more complex.

80/100

Guess: Balvenie 15 Single Barrel. And honestly, I think I’m wrong, as it didn’t have that Balvenie honey smell to it. Otherwise, younger than 15 years, 43-46%, and a Speyside.

Actually: Stronachie 12, Abv 43%, Speyside.

Scotch review #184, Speyside review #57, Whisky Network review #251

One thought on “Stronachie 12 [Mystery Review]

Leave a Reply

