Jack Daniel’s Old No.7

Jack Daniel's Old No.7 1

So…. I like being a part of these community reviews.

Seriously, they are a lot of fun. Pushes me to go out and try something I wouldn’t normally push myself to try.

But why Jack Daniel’s Old No.7? Why do I own this now?

A little back story: My buddy started drinking this about 4 years ago. And he drank it hard. And when he drank it, he wasn’t my friend anymore; he was Angry Jack. And the times, they weren’t as fun with Angry Jack around. He’d become accusatory, and would yell. So I said “No more Jack Daniel’s Old No. 7 in the house, or I’m turning it into BBQ sauce.”

And that fixed the problem…. And now I have a small Mickey of it, opened. Guess I’m going to be making BBQ sauce soon.

It’s a good thing.

Price: $31.95 (CAD)

Region: Tennessee

Abv: 40%

Colour: Light brown (and fear itself)

Nose: Roasted corn, burnt caramel, faint cloves, Easter egg chocolate, guava

There’s a lot of roasted corn going on. Eventually some waxy chocolate, overtly tangy fruit, and burnt caramel.

I think I know why some people get angry while drinking this now….

Taste: Corn, burnt carrot, brown sugar, orange, vegetal

I’ll say this, for all my worries, this doesn’t taste as bad as I thought it would. I mean, it’s not bad tasting, it’s mostly just boring to me. Like a cheap store blend or something, not a lot going on.

Granted at least I’m not rubbing my tongue on the carpet in revulsion, so I’ve got that going for me, which is nice.

Finish: Burnt turnip, peach skin, cotton, smoke

The finish tastes like what having all the stereotypes of the Southern US burp into my mouth would taste like… I’d imagine.

Lasts a surprisingly long time though. Don’t know if that’s good or not.

Conclusion: This… well, this isn’t the best whisky coming out of the US, but it’s not the worst. It’s just bland and simple. I’m not going to rag on it, I’m just going to say that they make something that isn’t atrocious that tastes great in BBQ sauce. And that’s where I’ll be keeping it.

49/100

Bourbon review #15, Tennessee #2

2 thoughts on “Jack Daniel’s Old No.7

Leave a Reply

