Balvenie Tun 1401, Batch 6

Balvenie TB6 1

So a long, long, long ass time ago (to use the scientific term), I made a pretty sweet trade with /u/dustlesswalnut[1] . I ended up trying some drams that I would never, ever get the chance to try, and… well, I think I sent him some Canucks. Can’t really remember though, I didn’t really sleep that well, given one cat decided to start singing at 4:30am, and the other decided to purr near my ear at 5am.

Lack of sleep makes for a dull TOModera, sorry about that.

But enough about that! I need to catch up on some drams I’ve traded, and dammit, I’ll make this one shine with a ton of information, that I hope I read correctly.

The following was reviewed quite highly by /u/dustlesswalnut[2] , so we’ll see how I like it. I’m a bit meaner to Balvenies, so hopefully I don’t enrage him.

Balvenie Tun 1401, Batch 6 is made from spirits taken from Balvenie’s Warehouse 24, which is like the TV show, except they hold onto their crazy shit a lot better.

It’s a mixture of 7 traditional whisky casks and two sherry butts, all of which have different ages that span a number of decades, and all that are hand-selected by David Stewart.

Tun 1401 is the final resting place, the Balvenie’s traditional oak marrying vessel.

Batch 6 was specially made for the US, so it’s like Balvenie gave them a drinkable version of the Statue of Liberty. Which is pretty good, because normally the rest of us just get scarves. It would seem that all of the Batches that are divisible by 3 are US only, though that just seems to be what I’m seeing, and not any specific statement made by Balvenie.

There you have it. This is a special release that has multiple casks married together to make a single malty goodness. Sounds interesting, let’s see how it tastes!

Balvenie TB6 2

Price: N/A in Ontario… What a Surprise!

Region: Speyside

Abv: 49.8%

Colour: Polished copper

Nose: Rich caramel, basil, mint, cinnamon, peach, burnt orange, oak, pecan pie

Very strong caramel note. Like dark, thick, heavy ass 99% fat caramel, right up your nose, going right to your veins.

I think my current diet is affecting my writing.

Anyway, as time goes, there’s some spice, some woody quality, and a whole fucking pecan pie. Tasty.

Taste: Salty caramel, peach, nutmeg, mint, lemon, oregano

Again, more caramel, though there’s also some nice peach… However it’s a little simple for what I was hoping for. Not bad simple, just… well, there’s peach, and there’s caramel.

Geez, sounds like I’m complaining about strippers… Moving on.

Finish: Orange, salt, dry, soda water, rosemary, nutmeg, walnut, oak

Citrus and Dry, but not in a bad way. Nice long, oaky, nutty, spicey, herbal… I like this finish. Wish it was part of the taste.

Conclusion: So, where’s the issue, right? I mean, it’s a good Abv., it has a great Nose, long, dry, cleansing finish…. But that taste is just boring. To me. I mean, this is a tasty dram, and there are a LOT worse ones out there, especially by Balvenie. Would I buy a bottle? No, because I wanted more from the taste. Should you try it? Yes, because this is good quality, and that Nose is so great for fat people like me who love sweets. Dammit, I’m going to have a cookie now.

84/100

Scotch review #153, Speyside #48, Whisky Network review #200

1001 Whiskies to taste before you die review #119

101 Whiskies to try before you die review #33

One thought on “Balvenie Tun 1401, Batch 6

Leave a Reply

