Amrut Peated Cask Strength

Amrut Peated Cask Strength 1

When I was at Cadenhead’s in Edinburgh, I noticed they had some Amrut. And I mentioned it. The gentlemen there said “I’d go for Amrut over most of the other distilleries in Scotland. They are doing things right.”

For the oldest independent bottler in Edinburgh to say that an Indian distillery is doing things right and to even want it over Scotch is pretty amazing. He went on to say “If you have a chance, try the Amrut Peated Cask Strength.

Well, okay then. When I man in charge of whisky with an accent tells me what to do, I follow his advice.

Found this one in Manchester, and… look, I’m really jet lagged, and I’m not able to finish that sentence, so let’s all pretend I said something witty, or at least in English. Or in French, because seriously, I’d take one of the languages I normally butcher right now.

Amrut Peated Cask Strength is made with Scottish barley, and dried with peat fire until it reaches 23 ppm.

Let’s see how it goes?

Travel Tip: Jet lag mixed with being hungover and a morning commute sucks. So always take a day off before work, or you may angrily yell at a teenager like an old man.

Amrut Peated Cask Strength 2

Price: N/A in Ontario

Region: India

Abv: 62.7%

Colour: Very pale yellow

Nose: Peach, sweet peat, orange, sour grapes, iodine, stewed vegetables, perfume

I gotta tell you, when I first read “Peated”, I expect an Islay blast to my senses. Think Laphroaig or Ardbeg. And then I smelled this, and it was actually just nicely peated. It’s more sweet than peaty. Very, very nice and refreshing.

Taste: Key lime pie, peat, burn, pepper, mint, chocolate, plums, cream, nectarine

Really, really good Key lime pie. Like someone took a plane to Florida from India, had someone’s grandma bake it fresh, super sonic jet it back, and then freshly mixed it with alcohol and some peat.

I’m really tired, I hope that makes sense. it’s really tasty and sweet. The peat is a component, and not the main attraction. Really tasty.

Finish: Cumin, lots of chocolate, musty, currants, vanilla milkshake, peat, cold peas

Ever have one of those headaches where it feels like your brain is spinning in your head? No? Okay, onto the finish then.

The best way I could explain the finish, at the moment, is as follows: Take a fruity Mexican chocolate shake, and eat it with cold smoked peas. And it works. Beautifully. I wish I had this with some dessert, that would have been perfect.

Conclusion: If I could make a dessert that tasted half this good, I’d probably be a baker. This is a wonderful dessert dram, and makes me wish I could buy it or any of the other Amrut offerings that I haven’t tried yet.

I will say this: You may pick this up expecting the big Islay flavour that we’re all pretty used to. It isn’t. It’s closer to a peated Highland or something Bruichladdich thought up and released with another 78 versions. I could argue the merits of peating something lightly versus complaining about naming something “Peated” while having it lightly peated, but the point is moot. This is good, and I need to nap (too bad I need to work for another 6 hours).

87/100

World whisky review #25, India #4, Whisky Network review #128

1001 Whiskies to taste before you die review #74

One thought on “Amrut Peated Cask Strength

Leave a Reply

