Bulleit Rye

Bulleit Rye 1

Hi /r/bourbon! One of my rare stops in here! I just hit Scotch Review #70 over at /r/Scotch, and I’m heading out of the country for awhile, so I thought I’d post something different than what I’ll be having in the UK.

Today we’re looking at a group favourite, Bulleit Rye. Because without Bourbon, we wouldn’t have half the other whisky that we have today.

Bulleit Rye is aged for at least 6 years with a mash bill of 95% rye and 5% bareley. Since I don’t live down under, I’m able to have the 45% version, so lucky me! Also, unlike Bulleit Bourbon, Bulleit Rye is made in Lawrenceberg, Indiana.

Enough jibber-jabbing, let’s get to the Rye!

Bulleit Rye 2

Price: N/A

Region: Indiana

Abv: 45%

Colour: Cherrywood

Nose: Violets, cherry, sandalwood, cream, strawberry, cinnamon, coconut

Very smooth smell, right amount of fruit, and a lot of cinnamon and sandalwood. Reminds me of being down at the beach. Indiana has beaches, right?

Taste: Hot radish, cinnamon, oak, faint vanilla, fake blueberries, edamame, plain donut.

Started out really hot, however after waiting longer than normal, the sweetness came out and paired nicely. Nothing too complex, though nice.

Finish: Oak, cherry, burnt butter, fried onions in bacon fat, dough, clotted cream, more cinnamon, coconut

And we finish back where we started. Very creamy whisky, not too used to that. I almost found this too smooth after awhile. My wife like it due to the smoothness, so we’ve finally found a whisky under $200 she’ll drink, so there’s that.

Conclusion: Good rye elements give this a wonderful sweetness and balance of earthiness and spice. Dies a little too quickly and a little too smooth for my tastes, however I wouldn’t turn down a glass, and if the LCBO ever has this, I’d buy it for about $40 (CAD).

81/100

Bourbon Review #5, Indiana Review #1, Whiskey Review #93

1001 Whiskies to taste before you die review #52

One thought on “Bulleit Rye

Leave a Reply

