BenRiach Peated 10 Curiositas [Mystery Dram]

Mystery Sample Kinohead

I’m trying to make it through quite a few of my outstanding samples before I go away to the UK. Because nothing’s better than beating up your liver before the world championships of beating up your liver (next to visiting Russia or Australia or parts of Quebec).

None the less, I decided to start the Scotches with a Mystery Dram from /u/kinohead. I’m quite excited, as I’ve never done a mystery dram before, other than when my wife surprises me.

Usually I ramble on at this point about some background to it, but in this case I only know it’s Scotch, not on kinohead’s list, and I haven’t reviewed it before. Also my wife found this fun so she and I ended up guessing together (she guessed second to not throw me off).

And if you think you’ve had some fun fights with your SO, try arguing over a Mystery Dram. Fun times.

Region: No idea

Price: No idea, seriously, you’d think you would get the idea of a mystery dram by now.

Abv: No idea, stop asking.

Colour: Bone yellow (no E150)

Nose: Soft smoke, flowers, tangerine, pepper, caramel, little medicinal, oranges, dry

It’s a lighter peatiness in this one. Not mesquite smoked, and not an Ardbeg. It’s more fruity than an Islay, however at first I thought it might be a special Caol Ila, like a Sauternes or Cognac finish, however my wife informed me that didn’t make sense. She was right, this isn’t an Islay (or maybe she was wrong).

Taste: Lemon pepper, hot, peat, smoke, medicinal, smoke, salt, plums, sour, peach, olive oil, hot sauce, pear

kinohead described this as a “wolf in sheep’s clothing”, and he wasn’t blowing smoke up my ass (otherwise it’d be Thursday and I’d be $15.50 richer). This is definitely not Chill Filtered, as it still has some body to it, and it must be Cask Strength.

On this, we agreed. The amount of fruit that comes out over time tells me that this might be a Cambelton. My wife states she said this first, and as such, I start prepping the bed to sleep on.

Finish: Brine, medicinal/orange vitamins, little plum, smoke, buttered mushrooms, cigars

Very briny, long, bitter, smokey, and earthy finish. This is nice, I’d have this again

Conclusion: I’d recommend it if I knew what it was. Has a good balance, is a bit strong, isn’t messed with at all. Now to guess:

Guesses:

I guess Springbank 12 Cask Strength.

My wife’s guess is Springbank CV.

It was actually BenRiach Peated 10 Curiositas

88/100

Scotch Review #65, Speyside #17, Whisky Network review #88

1001 Whiskies to taste before you die review #50

101 Whiskies to try before you die review #14

One thought on “BenRiach Peated 10 Curiositas [Mystery Dram]

Leave a Reply

