Talisker 10

Talisker 10

Wow, 50 Scotch reviews. Never thought I’d actually hit this milestone. Go me.

After reviewing 3 rare malts, it’s probably time to step down from my ivory Scotch tower and go back to some of the regular Scotch/World Whisky samples, and try to mellow out my palate once and for all. Or at least stop being so snobby and picky..

About 6 months ago, my local LCBO had a sale on a bunch of sample 200 ml bottles. And as someone who usually has to pay tons for Beginner/Advanced level Scotch, I started grabbing up bottles like it was going to be outlawed in some type of Teetotaler/Mad Max world.

Let’s take a moment to imagine that world. If you made it into a movie, the villains wouldn’t swear, drive calmly, and talk softly. The hero is half in the bag most of the time, and can’t say a sentence without the word “Fuck-Juggling-Thunder-Fucker”.

I’d pay to see that movie. In a VIP theater with a Scotch.

Back to the shopping: It was Christmas, and I deserved gifts, so I bought them (Note: No I didn’t deserve them at all).

I’ve saved the one I know I would enjoy the most for last, while simultaneously reviewing other things and ignoring it like the youngest child who can do no wrong: Talisker 10.

Talisker is known for being the only Scotch distilled on the Isle of Skye. I’m expecting something similar to an Islay, so let’s see if I’m right.

Price: $79.95 (CAD)

Abv: 45.8%

Region: Island (Isle of Skye)

Colour: Faint yellow highlighter

Nose: Smoke, salt air, butterscotch, caramel sundae, beernuts, Pinesol, oil, oak, orange zest, smoke meat

Merry Christmas that’s good! Why did I wait so long to try this?

This is more salty than a traditional Islay, which is nice. There’s even a great woody/caramel mix that is in there.

Taste: Brine, peat, chili flakes, vanilla pudding, dill, lemon, smoke, light cranberry, tarragon, pepper, cocoa, mace

I’m getting more herbs that I originally assumed I’d ever have in a Scotch. It’s getting a little bit in the way for me, however this is still nice to sip.

Finish: Light breeze, hay, peat, cloves, mushroom, brown sugar, smoked ribs, bacon, dehydrated apricot

There’s the smoke I was looking for, where it belongs. In the finish.

Seriously though, I’m really liking the finish on this. It makes up for the jumble of herbs I found in the taste, and really leaves you with that smoked meat flavour I was looking for.

Conclusion: Talisker 10 is always worth trying. There’s no argument there. If it’s at a bar, have a glass and enjoy. Goes well with Dessert or with Ribs. That being said, it was a bit too herbal for me, so it loses marks versus Ardbeg 10 though is massively better than Bowmore.

83/100

Scotch review #50, Island review #3, Whisky Network review #70

1001 Whiskies to taste before you die review #42

2 thoughts on “Talisker 10

Leave a Reply

