Amrut Cask Strength

Amrut Cask Strength 2

You know what’s a great way to try different whiskies? /r/ScotchSwap. Seriously great people over there.

One of my most recent swaps was with an awesome person named /u/pacifen , and seriously, this was a pretty great swap. I’ve been jonesing to try different types of world whisky, and unfortunately (as everyone is sick of hearing), Ontario decides to throw curve balls on some non-European world whiskies. And by curve balls, I mean price hikes and random intervals of availability (can you tell I work in Marketing… god, I nearly made myself sick with that last line).

Also, who wants to only drink Irish and Canadian. If you do that, you end up bitter and disinterested like Texacer.

None the less, that’s where the awesome pacifen comes in. In our swap I received quite a few world whiskies, and the first I couldn’t hold off reviewing was the Amrut Cask Strength.

Spoiler: Whatever they are doing over at Amrut Distilleries is amazing and should be praised. This is some wicked good stuff. Turns out they have been around since 1948, and yet we’re only now hearing about their amazing stuff.

Here’s hoping the LCBO can buy some more of their offerings (or at least the Peated, as I’m interested in that one).

Amrut Cask Strength 1

Price: N/A in Ontario 😦

Region: Indian

Abv: 61.8%

Colour: Nutmeg

Nose: Smoke, alcohol, lilac, vanilla, nutmeg, cardamon, sourdough, orange rind, chocolate

It’s like an Irish, a great Lowland, a good Highland, and a really good Cambelton got together brought the best out of each one. And then walked into a bar. I’ll let you figure out something funny, it’s been a long week.

This is really nice and spicy. The alcohol portion is a tad strong, however that subsides as you drink more. And you’ll want to drink more.

Taste: Smooth, lime, flowers, heat, smoke, bacon, nutmeg, cinnamon, peanuts, licorice, toffee, honey

Very complex taste. Starting out the smoke and lime are in the background for me, and it resembles a weak Cambelton, however as time goes on it really blossoms into an amazing flavour.

I should note that the website originally noted a buttery flavour, however I didn’t. But that’s been something I’ve been noting that I have a hard time determining. Buttery flavours, that is, not the website.

Finish: Nutmeg, smoke, walnut, faint orange, anise, yeast, pencil shavings, chili flakes, earthy, marjoram, coffee

In the finish is where I”m starting to get the Indian flavours come out, with the marjoram being center stage, as well as more spice. Long finish on this one, and it’s nice to be able to taste walnuts without my tongue swelling up.

Conclusion: From now you can tell I liked this one, what with the way I’ve gushed over it, however I think where it “falls short” is the Finish being the only part that has a terroir portion to it. And not that it’s bad, it just really borrows from other areas. Is that bad? Not completely, I think this tasted amazing, and would buy a bottle if I could. However I wanted something more unique. And honestly I’m nitpicking, I’m just saying there’s room for more improvement, and perhaps I’ll find that in their other varieties.

Maybe I have become disinterested and bitter?

84/100

World Whisky review #17, India review #2, Whisky Network review #63

1001 Whiskies to taste before you die review #36

One thought on “Amrut Cask Strength

Leave a Reply

