Laphroaig Quarter Cask

Laphroaig Quarter Cask

Sorry for the stock image, I swear I took a picture of this one, yet it never uploaded.

You know how there’s always that one whisky that you have and have never, ever reviewed? You’ll order it, you’ll enjoy it, heck, maybe it’s even yet another reason why you enjoy a certain region and yet you’ve never just reviewed it?

Well I’d like to thank glinsvad for sending me that this dram as part of a recent swap. Laphroaig Quarter Cask was first introduced to me 2 years ago when I flew into England. It was my first Scotch on English soil, and it was very good. Blew my understanding of what Peat should be right out of the salt water. And finally, after ordering it multiple times in bars on holiday, I’m going to review it.

Abv: 48%

Price: Received a swap, however the price for a 750ml near me is $69.95 (CAD)

Region: Islay

Colour: Goldenrod

Nose: Leather, smoke, pop rocks in the nose, cedar, spices, Sauvignon Blanc, smoked meat

To explain what I mean by “pop rocks in the nose”, you know that feeling when you breath in smoke or spices and it sets off different smells throughout? That’s the feeling you get from Laphroaig Quarter Cask. It eventually mellows into a smoked meat mix. And the Sauvignon adds a nice dry, fruit mix that balances it out.

Taste: Spicy, smoke, burn, leather, vanilla, salt water, curry powder, charcoal, chocolate milk

And the spices keep on coming. Here’s a fun fact: When I cook, I overspice everything. Why? Well that’s just the way I prefer food. And this dram matches up nicely to that. Is it properly balanced or smooth? Not at all. And while that’s a detriment, it’s a nice dram to have when you want a pick me up.

Finish: Bacon, BBQ sauce, Stilton, habanero, coffee beans, cigars

Medium length on this, which is nice. Wish it was longer almost. This is quite nice way to finish off, though I almost wish it would smooth out just a little bit. It’s a fighter until the end, and that comes with pros and cons. On the other hand… mmmm… bacon.

Conclusion: Laphroaig QC is a great way to show someone what Islay is all about. It’s peaty, smokey, and strong. It’s not perfect, as the finish could be longer, or the taste could be more balanced, however if you’re looking for a great dram with dinner or relaxing at night, you can go a lot worse than this Scotch.

85/100

Scotch reviews #38, Islay reviews #15, Whisky Network reviews #51

1001 Whiskies to taste before you die review #29

One thought on “Laphroaig Quarter Cask

Leave a Reply

