Nikka Yoichi 10

Nikka Yoichi 10 (1)

Three reviews? One day? Is this man mad! Mad like a fox!… Or perhaps I’m finally off for vacation and I have been saving these for awhile. This is my 5th World Whisky review.

The Nikka Yoichi Single Malt 10 Year Old Whisky is a Japanese Single Malt. This small sampler was another gift from my wife earlier this year, as something new to try. Turns out that I had tried it before.Funny story; on my only trip to the UK, when we finally went out to a pub, I asked the bartender in a Leicester pub what scotch he would recommend. Here I was in the middle of the UK, and he pours me a Japanese single malt. I guess the grass is always greener on the other side (of the world).

According to the website:

This bold and distinctive single malt whisky was distilled and matured at the Yoichi distillery in Hokkaido, birthplace of Nikka Whisky. The Yoichi distillery continues to adhere to techniques such as the use of coal-fired pot stills, and otherwise remains loyal to the whisky-making traditions dating back to its foundation.

Price: $27.00 (CAN) for a 180ml

Abv: 45%

Region: Hokkaido, Japan

Colour: Mahogony. I’m going to guess that this is dyed, as it’s quite dark for a 10 year old

Nose: Grass, little smoke, white chocolate, paprika, citrus.

Very faint. I’ve been trying to place some of the smells, wondering if my sniffer was off or perhaps I was snogged out from a big night.

However even with a clean palette and a more narrow glencairn glass, I have some trouble. The nose isn’t doing that much for me.

Taste: Plums, blueberry, smoke, little allspice, butterscotch, milk chocolate.

Again, very light, though the fruit and chocolate mix is nice. The smoke I had before seems to have morphed a little into allspice, which compliments it nicely.

Glad this is 45%, as any less and I wouldn’t be able to taste it at all. Very light flavour. I’m thinking it needs some more time in the cask, however this is a nice start.

Finish: Lemongrass, smoke, vanilla, pepper, paprika, strawberries.

I’m not the biggest fan of the finish. It’s all over the place for me, and the smoke takes over too much for this type of smoke. Kinda disappointing that it just turns into a smokey/sweet street fight, as the initial taste was much more balanced.

Conclusion: I have some trouble with Japanese malts, as they always taste (to me) like they’re trying to be a Highland and an Islay at the same time. The nose on this one was very light, the taste was a great surprise, and then the finish was like watching toddlers play hockey at a bad Southern restaurant; disorganized and thoroughly too smokey and sweet. That being said, I think that I’ll try the older version next time I find it at a pub.

75/100

World Whisky review #6, Japan review #1, Whisky Network review #13

1001 Whiskies to taste before you die review #8

101 Whiskies to try before you die review #2

One thought on “Nikka Yoichi 10

Leave a Reply

