Chivas Regal 18

Chivas Regal 18

This was a new scotch for me. I normally have Chivas Regal 12 when I’m out at a new bar and the Scotch selection isn’t quite existent. For my birthday a buddy gave me a bottle of Chivas Regal 18 for my birthday. So, without further ado, here is my 3rd Scotch review.

(Apologies for the stock image, the bottle has been emptied and my wife’s usual photo skills were not possible)

Price: $91.95 (CAD) at the LCBO

Region: Blend

Abv: 40.0%

Colour: Bronze medal, almost a caramel.

Nose: Caramel, iodine, faint citrus

Taste: Brine, light caramel, oak… not too much here.

Finish: More brine, oak smokiness, faint burnt lime.

So normally I don`t add water to my Scotch, however I wanted to open up the flavours to see if I was missing anything.

After Water:

Nose: Vanilla takes over for everything else

Taste: Orange creeps in, as well as vanilla, almost giving a creamsicle flavour

Finish: More light caramel than before, and the brine disappears.

Conclusion: Overall I wasn’t too impressed with this Scotch. At first I thought I may have burned my mouth, or had overblown my senses, however on the subsequent tries it tasted very similar. I really appreciate my buddy giving me the chance to try this, however I doubt I’ll be buying it again. I’d recommend the 12 over the 18 any day

65/100

Scotch review #2, Blend #1, Whisky Network Review #3

1001 Whiskies to taste before you die review #1

One thought on “Chivas Regal 18

Leave a Reply

